The Big List of I’m Not’s…

It has taken me about a week but I have finally compiled my big list of ‘attributes’ that i have found in the New Testament, excluding Matthew-Acts.

Now, before I go in to these, I want to kind of go over why I chose to do this. I have been a struggling Christian for many years. My walk with God consists of many dead ends and U-turns and the occasionally straight and flat land that i can go as fast as I want to. I am not sure if it’s because trust is not my strongest trait, or because I find it so hard to fully rely on someone (some One) else. But, one thing I can say, I have always found comfort and peace in God. He has always given me what I needed and often times, what I wanted.

Even when I was a disobedient child of God.

Even when I was unlovable.

Even when I hated myself.

Even when I was full speed ahead in the flesh.

SO, God’s pretty awesome and faithful. Just saying.

Back to the list… this is not a comprehensive list. I am very confident that I have missed something that someone else would deem important or noteworthy, but they can make their own list. This is mine.

This list is not meant to make us perfect. It’s not a way for us to master all of the attributes and force them every day. We don’t need to obsess over them and freak out if we mess up. They are examples of Christ living in us. The one thing that stood out to me the most about the books I read was the insistence of ‘dying to self’ day after day after day. We my put to rest all of the things that bind us to this sinful and fleshy world. Instead, abide in Christ and allow His characteristics to shine through us.

It’s HIS power and might that make up perfect. Not our efforts.

Why would drive ourselves absolutely bonkers trying to live up to all these things

So why find them and list them?

Mainly, because I love lists and the idea of what a ‘Christian Person’ looked like has come up a lot here lately.

Did I mention I love lists? Ok, good

So here it is. Like I said, its not comprehensive or even 100% complete, but take a look:

Characteristic Where I found it
Unity of mind

Sympathy

Brotherly love

A tender heart

Humble mind

1 Peter 8
Self-controlled

Sober-minded

Earnestly loving

Hospitality without grumbling

1 Peter 7:7-9
Prevent Unfruitfulness:

Faith with Virtue

Virtue with knowledge

Knowledge with self-control

Self-control with steadfastness

Steadfastness with Godliness

Godliness with Brotherly affection

Brotherly Affection with Love

2 Peter 1:5-7
Let love be genuine

Abhor what is evil

Hold fast to what is good

Love with brotherly affection

Show honor

Fervent in Spirit

Rejoice in Hope

Patient in tribulation

Constant in prayer

Bless those who prosecute

Live in harmony

Be humble

Romans 12:9-21
Love is:

Patient

Kind

Does not envy or boast

Not arrogant or rude

Does not insist on its own way

Not irritable or resentful

Does not rejoice at wrong doings

Rejoices in truth

Bears all things

Believes all things

Hopes all things

Endures all things

LOVE NEVER ENDS

1 Corinthians 13: 4-8
Characteristic Where I found it
Self- control in honor and holiness I Thessalonians 4:4
Aspire to live quietly

Mind your own affairs

1 Thessalonians 4:11
Be at peace among yourselves

Encourage the fainthearted

Help the weak

Be patient

Always seek to do good

Rejoice always

Pray without ceasing

Give thanks in all circumstances

Hold fast to what is good

Abstain from all evil

1 Thessalonians 5:13-22
Righteousness

Godliness

Faith

Love

Steadfastness

Gentleness

I Timothy 6:11
Pursue:

Righteousness

Faith

Love

Peace

Pure Heart

2 Timothy 2:22
Be kind to everyone

Able to teach

Patiently enduring evil

Gently correcting others

2 Timothy 2:24-25
Hospitable

 

Lover of good

Self-controlled

Upright

Holy

Disciplined

Titus 1:8
Self controlled

Pure

Kind

Titus 2:5
Speak evil of no one

Avoid quarreling

Be gentle

Show courtesy to all

Titus 3:2
Honor marriage

Be free from the love of money

Be content with what you have

Remember your leaders

Hebrews 13:4-7
Be:

Quick to hear

Slow to speak

Slow to anger

James 1:19
Tame the tongue James 3
Wisdom from above

Pure peaceable

Gentle

Open to reason

Full of mercy

Full of good fruits

Impartial

Sincere

James 3:17-18
Do not speak evil against one another James 4:11
Be patient

Do not grumble against one another

Do not swear

James 5: 8,9,12
Sober minded

Do not conform to passions of former ignorance

Be holy in all your conduct

Love one another earnestly from a pure heart

1 Peter 1:13-14
(Women) Gentle and quiet spirit 1 Peter 3:4
Characteristics Where I found it
Purity

Knowledge

Patience

Kindness

Holy Spirit

Genuine Love

Truthful Speech

Power of God

2 Corinthians 6:6-7
Cheerful Giver

Aim for restoration with Each Other

Comfort One Another

Agree with One Another

Live in Peace

2 Corinthians 13:11
Fruit of the Spirit:

Love

Joy

Peace

Patience

Kindness

Goodness

Faithfulness

Gentleness

Self-Control

Galatians 5:22-24
Humility

Gentleness

Patience

Bearing in Love

Peace

Ephesians 4:2-3
Speak the Truth

Do not hold a grudge

Do honest work

Speak good, uplifting words

Be kind to one another

Tenderhearted

Forgiving

Ephesians 4:25-32
Thanksgiving (opposed to filthy,

Foolish talk, crude joking)

Ephesians 5:4
Give thanks always Ephesians 5:20
Do nothing from selfish ambition/

Conceit

Philippians 2:3
Do all things without grumbling/

dispute

Philippians 2:14-15
Thoughts:

True

Honorable

Just

Pure

Lovely

Commendable

Praiseworthy

Excellent

Philippians 4:8
Content in Every situation Philippians 4:11
Stable

Steadfast

Colossians 1:23
Compassionate hearts

Kindness

Humility

Meekness

Patience

Bearing with one another

Forgiving

Put on love

Peace of Christ rule in hearts

Words of God dwell in you

Thankfulness in hearts to God

Doing everything in Jesus’ name

Colossians 3:12-17
Always gracious speech Colossians 4:6
 

 

 

Whew!!! That is a lot of stuff!! As you can see there are several themes since many words are repeated (love, patience, self-control…). But I thought it best to include all that was in the verse that I was looking at. It sort of gives it a more cohesive thought.

Looking at all of these things, man do I feel so inadequate and so thankful that I have a big God that can help me and shine through me and bring all of these things to light without me having to stress myself and worry about it.

Abide in Christ, rest in Christ.

Let Him teach you and mold you.

Praise him and worship him.

Then, yield to him when he pushes you towards a certain trait to work through. It’s an amazing feeling knowing that you hardly have any patience, yet feeling so very patient when something comes up that you would have flipped over.

So let’s not take this list as a ‘to do’ or a ‘to be’, but let’s think of it more as a ‘to become through Christ’. Because, honestly, I’m not strong enough to do it all myself

In the name of Jesus, Hannah

Leave a Reply

